Delete Startup Config On Cisco Switch

Delete Startup Config On Cisco Switch. Clearing the startup configuration file. Deleting one file will cause the backup copy to be copied to the startup.

Cisco Nexus 1000V for VMware vSphere System Management
Cisco Nexus 1000V for VMware vSphere System Management from www.cisco.com

To set the config_file environment variable, perform this task in privileged mode (depending on your supervisor engine and switch type): If you reboot the switch with no startup configuration, the switch enters the setup program so that you can reconfigure the switch with all new settings. It’s the same as deleting the configuration from any other cisco network ios device.

The Console Prompt Should Change From “Switch>” To “Switch#” To Signify This.

These switches do not contain vlan information because they do not participate in vlan trunk protocol (vtp). Firstly note that this will wipe the configuration off the switch, do not do this in a production network unless you intentionally want to do this. If your switch runs cisco ios, it maintains a running configuration file and a startup configuration file, both of which you need to clear.

If You Reboot After Issuing This Command, All Your Config Will Be Erased.

Clear the configuration of your switch. Then you can load config from flash. Firstly note that this will wipe the configuration off the switch, do not do this in a production network unless you intentionally want to do this.

Cisco Ios Does This For Several Reasons A Few Being To Preserve Vlan Data In Case Of Power Failures.

Resetting the cisco router to factory default involves erasing the nvram. Reset a switch running cisco ios software to factory defaults enter “enable” mode by typing: It’s the same as deleting the configuration from any other cisco network ios device.

One May Also Ask, How Do You Set A Cisco Switch To Default?

To save the newly configuration type “wr” command. This is the easy part. Vtp transparent stores the information in the startup config, that is why step 2 is necessary.

This Example Shows How To Back Up The Startup Configuration To The Tftp Server (Ascii File):

You can also watch the below video on youtube. In the password recovery process you are informed to either rename that file to config.old or delete it. Enter end, and then enter the write erase command to delete the current startup configuration on the router.